Baby Presents

Both my cousin and my husband’s cousin had babies in August!

I love the Ann Norling Fruit Hat and decided to make gifts for the babies that would last through the fall when it starts to cool down. Fortunately, these hats knit up very quickly so I was able to make them in record time (even while in the midst of finals, boards, and surgery). (I used Annie Blatt yarn that I bought at Chix with Stix in Forest Park, IL)

Here’s a pictures of one of the precious babies with her hat on:

Another present was a sign for my cousin’s baby boy’s room. She’s very has a very country/down home style and I wanted to make something that would fit in with that. In my husband’s home town, there’s a coffee shop called Cabin Coffee that has a very cowboy feel to it. They sell all sorts of cowboy kitch and the like – iron stars, witty cowboy wisdom signs, etc. Last year, I spotted an adorable sign that said “Little Buckaroo” and decided then and there that I would get it for her when she had a baby.  When she got pregnant, I went back to buy it and found that the simple piece of painted wood retailed for over $30. I figured I could make it for less.

I had some left over paint from painting my desk. My husband found some beat up wood in our garage. He cut it to size and painted it light green for me. I went back when it was dry and added the words to it. I then stapled some wire to the back to hang it from the wall.

My cousin loved the sign and the hat! I can’t wait to see it in his room!

Leave a Reply

