Burda Style: Open Source Sewing

My mom used to sew the majority of her clothes (and mine) back in the day. I’ve always wanted to emulate her and her mad sewing skilz. However, I don’t know when you were last in a fabric store, but goodness gracious, there are some terrible patterns out there and many of them cost a fortune. I swear, it’s as if a bunch of bitter old stitchers from McCall’s banded together to determine exactly what no-one-in-her-right-mind would wear and make patterns for her. It’s like they think that the only people who sew are teachers who still only wear jumpers and poor souls stuck in an 80s time warp. It’s enough to drive a girl nuts – you’ll know it’s happened when you see me wearing high waisted pleated pants. (OK, it’s not really that bad, but it can seem like it at times. To McCall’s credit, they have lowered many of the pattern prices from the $15 to $2.99. Most of the patterns are still stuff I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing.)

Anyhow, I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to find this site, but I’m pretty excited about it. Burda Style is a resource for clothing sewing patterns. What’s even better is that most of the patterns are FREE and you simply download them to your computer and print yourself. It’s still young, so there aren’t TONS of patterns, but I’m hoping that as the sewing movement follows the knit/crochet movement, that it will grow.

Some of my other favorite sewing resources include:

Amy Butler Design: Her patterns and gorgeous fabric are pricey, but I don’t care because she’s so cool.  All patterns are printed on 100% post-consumer waste. I made her Nappy Bag (with some functional changes) as a giant tote for school supplies. I’m looking forward to making the Lotus Tunic at some point.  I also have her book of simple patterns, In Stitches.

Purl Bee: This blog, run by Purl Soho in New York, has “project journals” (in the right column) with instructions for patchwork, knit/crochet, and embroidery projects/techniques.

Sew, Mama, Sew: A fabric store out of Beaverton Oregon with a large online following, SMS has a great tutorials section.

Fitz Sewing Patterns: Home designed patterns ready for download. Some freebies are available and the for sale patterns are inexpensive.

Favorite Things Patterns: These prairie inspired patterns are lovely, but more on the pricey side.

56 Free Apron Patterns:  Seriously, there’s 56 of them!

One response to “Burda Style: Open Source Sewing

  1. Thank you for compiling these links. I just signed up for Burda, too. Have you written anything on copyright? I am curious to find out more about creative commons and the like. What do you think about it?

Leave a Reply

