The Purls SoHo Bag revealed!

OK, I know. I’m terrible about keeping up with this blog. With school and the myriad of technical difficulties that arose, it’s taken me a while to get my business in order. However, it seems that order has arrived and simplicity with it.

I finished this bag back in January. I really enjoyed the whole process of making it. I was determined to make it something special. The cost alone made me more dedicated to it than many of my other, less extravagant projects. Plus, the fabric really inspired me. I’m a very nature loving, wildlife hugging, granola eating kind of girl, so this fabric was basically made for me. The bag also ended up reminding me of several literary works and inspiring me to add little bits of embroidery. I have tons of embroidery thread that I inherited from my late great grandmother, Susie. I love adding bits of her craft stashes to my own creations. It makes them seem more lasting and more important, tying me to the projects. The same is true of my Singer Featherweight sewing machine, which belonged to my grandmother and then my mother.

Without further adieu, here are the photos (many!) that we’ve all been waiting for (although Fiber Fiend more than most!):

Full View of the PSB

Hope is a thing with feathers

When I saw the bird, I immediately thought of Emily Dickinson’s famous poem, which also happens to be one of my favorites:

“Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul.
And sings the tune
Without the words

and never stops at all.”

I heart Spiders

“When spider webs unite, they can tie up a lion.” ~Ethiopian Proverb

I’ve always had a thing for spiders. It might have stemmed from “Charlotte’s Web” or the fact that they are truly graceful creatures. I find Black Widows to be particularly interesting. I have a healthy fear of them, but still love those red triangles on their backs – like a badge. I thought that a friendlier looking spider would be worthwhile on this bag, so I gave it a heart instead.

Cell/PDA pocket

The original pattern for this bag had a cell phone pocket on the outside. Right before I started constructing the bag, however, I got a Treo 650 which was too big for the recommended pocket. I decided that I would rather have a larger pocket on the inside in a contrasting fabric.

Inside shot

Dragonfly

I’m really proud that I was able to finish this project. It was quite and accomplishment for me. It was also really fun to use my sewing machine again.

One response to “The Purls SoHo Bag revealed!

  1. Wow, I love it! It looks awesome! With all the cute little embroidery, it must have taken a long time! Nice work. Can’t wait to see what else you’ve been up to! (Like those Jaywalker socks?)

Leave a Reply

